Ambition Ipswich

Other Councils in Suffolk

Ipswich Borough Council is one of 7 district and borough councils within Suffolk. Suffolk County Council is made up of 75 councillors and is a Conservative-led authority. The County Council headquarters are directly opposite the Borough Council headquarters on Russell Road in Ipswich.

In recent years there has been a lot of consolidation within the management structures of the Suffolk local authorities. Three pairings of districts are now in place with shared Chief Executives and all three are at differing stages of merging their management structures into a single structure for each pair of authorities.

The three pairs are:

  • Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils;
  • Forest Heath District Council and St Edmundsbury Borough Council; and
  • Suffolk Coastal and Waveney District Councils.

In this section